Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      


Society Awards

Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal
Genetics Society of America Medal
George W. Beadle Award
Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education
The Novitski Prize
The Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

Trainee Awards

Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Awards
The GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards
DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics
Trainee Poster Awards










The Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education



The Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education recognizes an individual or group that has had significant, sustained impact on genetics education at any level, from K-12 through graduate school and beyond. Recipients of the Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education will have promoted greater exposure to and deeper understanding of genetics through distinguished teaching or mentoring, development of innovative pedagogical approaches or tools, design of new courses or curricula, national leadership, and/or public engagement and outreach.

The award was named posthumously for Elizabeth W. Jones (1939-2008), who was the recipient of the first GSA Excellence in Education Award in 2007. She was a renowned geneticist and educator who served as the 1987 GSA president and as editor-in-chief of GSA’s journal GENETICS for nearly 12 years (1996-2008).  At the time of her death, Jones was University Professor at Carnegie Mellon University, the institution’s highest faculty honor. She also served as head of the Department of Biological Sciences and Dr. Frederick A. Schwertz Distinguished Professor of Life Sciences. Her lab used genetic approaches to understand how proteins in yeast cells reach their proper destinations. Jones earned a bachelor’s in chemistry and the first PhD in genetics granted by the University of Washington; she completed postdoctoral training at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology and was on the faculty at Case Western Reserve University for five years before joining Carnegie Mellon in 1974.


Nominees will be considered for three years without the need to update information.





2019 Bruce Weir, University of Washington in Seattle
2018 Steven Farber, Carnegie Institution for Science &
Jamie Shuda, University of Pennsylvania
2017 Sally G. Hoskins, City College of the City University of New York
2016 William Wood, University of Colorado
2015 Louisa A. Stark, University of Utah
2014 Robin Wright, University of Minnesota
2013 A. Malcolm Campbell, Davidson College
2012 David A. Micklos, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
2011 Peter J. Bruns, Howard Hughes Medical Institute (retired)
2010 Utpal Banerjee, University of California, Los Angeles
2009 Sarah C. R. Elgin, Washington University in St. Louis and HHMI
2008 R. Scott Hawley, Stowers Institute for Medical Research
2007 Elizabeth W. Jones, Carnegie Mellon University