Donate Today!   Join GSA      

Home | Contact GSA      


Society Awards

Thomas Hunt Morgan Medal
Genetics Society of America Medal
George W. Beadle Award
Elizabeth W. Jones Award for Excellence in Education
The Novitski Prize
The Rosalind Franklin Young Investigator Award

Trainee Awards

Victoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Awards
The GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards
DeLill Nasser Award for Professional Development in Genetics
Trainee Poster Awards














Deadline: November 1, 2017


Please consider donating to the Undergraduate Travel Award fund, and help support our early career geneticists!


To promote excellence in undergraduate research and education, the Genetics Society of America has established a travel award to assist undergraduate members attending a GSA conference and presenting their research. 

Applicants must be GSA members, and can only use these awards to present research at a GSA-sponsored meeting.  Applications must be accompanied by two letters of recommendation, one from the PI of the laboratory in which the applicant is conducting research, and the other from a postdoc, graduate student, or technician with whom the applicant works directly or another professor familiar with the research.  The GSA Education Committee will choose the award winners.


The GSA Undergraduate Travel Awards have two rounds of applications per year; one for GSA conferences occurring between January 1 and June 30, and another for GSA conferences held between July 1 and December 31. Monitor the GSA e-News, this webpage, and the website for specific conferences for updates about application windows.


***NOTE: undergraduates attending the Drosophila Conference will be applying for theVictoria Finnerty Undergraduate Travel Award using the same application process***


Current GSA Undergraduate Travel Award Winners


Year Name Institution at Time of Award
2016 Cynthia Becker Ithaca College
2016 Diana Cardero Florida International University
2016 Brian Choi Indiana University
2016 Logan Condon University of Washington
2016 Max Haase University of Wisconsin - Madison
2016 Mathieu Henault Laval University
2016 Alex Lederer University of Pittsburgh
2016 Xiaoxue Lin College of William and Mary
2016 Maegan Neilson College of the Holy Cross
2016 Erin Ritchie University of Utah
2016 Carolyn Turcotte Marist College


Previous Undergraduate Travel Award Winners


Contribute to the GSA General Fund:


Please consider donating to the Undergraduate Travel Award fund, and help support our early career geneticists!


Contribute online with your membership renewal or click here to donate online.

Or, send a check to the Genetics Society of America with “Undergraduate Travel Award” written in the lower left memo and mail to:

Tracey Depellegrin
Executive Director
Genetics Society of America
9650 Rockville Pike
Bethesda, MD 20814-3998

* The Genetics Society of America is a nonprofit 501 (C) 3 corporation and contributions are tax deductible under the U.S. Federal Income Tax Code.